World traveler, political junkie and former sportscaster — R. Danny Pierre-Louis has done a lot of things over his life. Now, as the director of BRIDGES at Lake Worth for more than two years, R. Danny Pierre-Louis focuses on making positive, impactful, and lasting changes in the community.

Danny Pierre-Louis is our employee spotlight this month.


1) Describe your job at BRIDGES.

Danny Pierre-Louis: Leading a team of talented, motivated, and compassionate people working on challenging issues affecting child outcomes in our community…Finding ways to make the work exciting for others while making positive, impactful, and lasting changes in the community we serve.


2) Why did you decide to work at BRIDGES?

Danny Pierre-Louis: The vision of the BRIDGES initiative is both compelling and exciting. So, as a longtime human services executive, I saw the possibility to make real transformational changes with the families and decided that it would be a good fit to my values, beliefs, and my worldview.


3) What do you enjoy most about your job?

Danny Pierre-Louis: Interacting with various people from all walks of life, cultures, ethnicities…Providing growth opportunities for residents through capacity building workshops and community leadership training, and providing growth opportunities to our employees through coaching, and professional development resources.


4) How are you making a difference in the lives of BRIDGES families?

Danny Pierre-Louis: Changing mindsets: not to be a spectator but truly involved in the process to help them help themselves…Helping members identify their strengths and their talents as tools and resources to make changes in their circumstances with the support of BRIDGES.


5) What do you hope families gain from attending BRIDGES activities?  

Danny Pierre-Louis: To learn strategies to support their children’s academic success…To gain confidence in their own abilities and make sure their voices are heard in the design of programs that will affect outcomes for their families.


6) Tell us about yourself –

Where did you grow up:

I grew up in Haiti, by conservative parents who instilled in me the love of service to others.


How long have you lived in Palm Beach County?

38 years in Florida — 28 years in Palm Beach County


What are your goals for the future?

Continue to make a difference in the lives of the vulnerable populations in various capacities:  as a direct service provider, an advocate, or as community organizer.


7) Tell us something that we do not know about you?

Family: Proud mom of 2 wonderful college children studying music and theatre.

Hobbies:  Ballroom dancing, tennis aficionado, political junkie.

Claims to fame:  Visiting all the seven countries of Latin America and a former sportscaster.